Tags

, , , , , , ,

IMG_3598Yes. I got zucchini bombed and I love it. So what do I do with four large zucchinis? I first tried Grilled Zucchini a recipe from Pinterest . It turned out fabulous at a family barbecue and my kids eat it too. I altered the recipe because a family member doesn’t do well with a lot of salt or any salt for that matter and lemons are bad too (I love them and try to use them where ever I can). You can find the original recipe here. So this is how I altered it, I used Lemon Zest Olive Oil from Trader Joes and used little sea salt and pepper. I omitted the lemon salt altogether, I am sure it would have been great but for our needs we didn’t do it. One tip: cook till you have the dark grill marks, the zucchini has a better flavor and texture is better too.

I still have three more. Off to the family fave, Tropical Zucchini Bread. My husband and I first tried this bread when we moved into a little home while he was in graduate school. Our dear neighbors brought it over to welcome us in and my husband requested that I ask for the recipe. I love neighbors. Every time I make this bread I think of their kindness and want to show the same kindness to my neighbors. So here goes the recipe:

IMG_3621IMG_3627

Tropical Zucchini Bread

1 2/3 cups Sugar
3 Eggs
1 cup Oil
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/4 tsp Baking Powder
3/4 tsp Nutmeg
1 tsp Salt
2 tsp Vanilla
1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
2 cups Shredded Zucchini
1 small can Crushed Pineapple (drained)
3 cups Flour

Mix first 9 ingredients then add the last three. Bake 45 to 60 minutes at 350 degrees. It make 3 medium loaves or 5 mini loaves (I use the mini loaves.)

IMG_3614IMG_3622
My Sous-chef and not everything works as it should. Now that is how it really happens.

Hope you enjoy! Love to hear what you do with zucchini.

