Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_3689Happy Labor Day. Canning Apple Pie filling is my favorite finished canned item. Oh, how I wished that there was smell-a-blog. It smells like freshly baked apple pie in my home. Apple Pie Filling was my first thing I canned on my own almost 9 years ago. I received this recipe from my sister that lives in the land of apples.

Apple Pie Filling

8 cups Water
2 cups Sugar
2 teaspoons Cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon Nutmeg
3 tablespoons Lemon Juice
1 teaspoon Salt
42 medium Apples (peeled, cored, and cut into wedges)

Step 1: Mix dry ingredient in a large pan. Add liquid all at once and stir until dissolved. Divide liquid into two large pans.

Step 2: Divide prepared apples in pans with liquid and cook with lids on until apples are spongy.

Step 3: Remove from heat and fill hot quart jars with apples and enough liquid to cover leaving 1 inch head space.

Step 4: Process in hot water bath for 40 minutes at elevations about 3,000.

At first I used Golden Delicious Apples but a few years ago I was talking with a farmer at our local farmers market and she suggested the Ginger Gold. Isn’t that such a visual name, Ginger Gold? Both apples varieties work great but I prefer the Ginger Gold.

IMG_3655IMG_3654IMG_3667IMG_3686
I hope you enjoy these apples as much as my family does. We use the filling for “of course” apple pie, apples crisp, on pancakes, and they make a fabulous gift.

Psst: Kids love to help with peeling the apples. More help=Faster

