Tags

, , , , , , ,

IMG_3754It all started on Saturday, my parents were in town and I took them to the Farmers Market. (My peaches I was hoping to buy were not ready yet.) My parents fell in love with a large beautiful banana squash. So the plans for Sunday dinner began. My sister lives in the next town over so we made plans to meet at her home for a dinner of bbq chicken, new red potatoes, corn on the cob, and “the large beautiful banana squash”. I was put in charge of the squash. I have never cooked squash before.

First Step: Get someone with very strong muscles to cut squash. (They are very think and hard to cut)

Second Step: Place squash in large baking pan and season with salt and pepper to your liking. Also add dabs on butter on top of squash.

Third Step: Add 1/2 inch of water in the bottom of pan. Cover with tin foil.

Forth: Place squash in heated oven of 400° for 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Final Step: Remove squash from oven. Then with a large spoon remove flesh of the squash into a bowl. You may need to apply pressure to squash to release water. Add more salt, pepper, and butter if needed.

IMG_3759

This is the magic step. Have brown sugar on the side to be served on top of squash.

Fairly easy, just takes time. Enjoy.

My baby loved it and I did not add brown sugar to her portion.

 

