Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The pears are ready to can. It has been a week since I purchased them at the farmers market. Remember how green they were. Once I brought them home I took them downstairs in the cool and laid they out on a soft towel so they could ripen.

IMG_3632IMG_3976

Yep, they are done and are ready to can.

Get all things ready to go. All canning supplies, fruit, simple syrup, bottles, rings, lids, ice, small knife to peel skin, and the must have to prepare the pears, a melon baller.

IMG_3995IMG_3997

Simple Syrup: 6 cups water and 2 cups water. Bring to boil. This recipe is for a light syrup. You can make a heavier syrup by just adding more sugar.

Most people roll their eyes when they hear I can pears. Then the statement of “I hate canning pears, the peeling is awful.” I simply smile and think, I love it, it is like peeling a sunburn with out the pain. Wait, did I just admit I like to peel a sunburn, Gross.

The secret is a hot water bath just like peaches and tomatoes. Place pears in a hot water bath for only 5 seconds and instantly place in ice water. The peel comes right off with ease.

IMG_3998IMG_4000

Once you peel a pear, slice the pear in half and use my favorite tool. Yes, the melon baller to remove the core and clean up the stem (if you don’t clean up the step area you get strings, gag. No, seriously that is what I do when I eat pears with stem strings). The melon baller gives the pear a neat and beautiful shape and no strings. I am so giddy with how great these pears look.

IMG_4004IMG_4002

This does take some time and as you know the pears will start to brown (my girls would correct me here and say “Oxidize, Mom.”) To keep the pears from turning brown oxidizing you can add 1/4 cup of lemon juice to a bowl full of fruit or add a shake or two of Fruit Fresh. Stir the fruit gently so that fruit is covered with lemon juice or Fruit Fresh.

IMG_4006IMG_4008

If the pears turn a little brown no worries. During the water bath the brown will go away.

Fill clean jars with fruit. Place fruit so the outside of fruit is showing. I have said it before and I will say it again, “If it doesn’t look good your not going to eat it. And forget about the kids eating it too.” Once the jars are filled add simple syrup up to 1/2 inch from top. Then check for air bubbles by taking a butter knife and slide it down the side of the jar to release bubbles. Add more simple syrup if needed. Don’t forget to wipe off the lip of the bottle with a clean warm cloth to remove anything that might interfere with the sealing process.

IMG_4012IMG_4024

Process in a hot water bath for 35 minutes for over 3,000 altitude.

I love seeing pears come out of the water bath because they are so beautiful and white. They almost seem like they came from Heaven.

IMG_4019

