Tags

, , , , , , ,

Fresh Salsa from the garden. This is the one reason I can tomatoes. I am a salsa lover but to my dismay my wonderful husband doesn’t have the strength for it. TOO HOT! So I make my own to have complete control of the hotness or lack of hot.

IMG_4089IMG_4096

I only use a few ingredients but you can add what you like to get your desire of hot. Are you ready? K— let’s get started.

Fresh Salsa
Handful of cilantro
Half of onion
One clove of garlic
One jar of canned tomatoes
A dash of salt
Basil
A spoonful of sugar

Mince garlic, chopped onion and cilantro.Mash tomatoes to desired texture. Mix in oregano. Finish with a dash of salt and a spoon full of sugar. (the sugar brings out the natural flavor of the tomato). My hand chopper makes salsa easy and my kids love using it. So I get a little extra help with the salsa. I also used my chopper in this recipe. Again easy peasy.

IMG_4088IMG_4093

I know this really isn’t a recipe just a list of ingredients. This way to can make it the way to want it. Add peppers, more onion, red pepper, or jalapeños.

Guacamole is another favorite of our family. I came across this great short film about Guac. Hope you enjoy it as much as our family did.

