Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IMG_4285

A beautiful fall day, with the threat of snow calls for some more fall canning. What says Fall more then apples. The calling of making applesauce came my way today.

I popped my cut and washed apples with a little water in a large pot and cooked them for 15 minutes, until they were spongy. Then I used my cool new kitchen toy, food strainer attachment to my KitchenAid. Okay, stop rolling your eyes it really is exciting because it makes apple sauce “Easy Peasy, Lemon Squeezy”.

The food strainer attachment is the same idea as the Virginia Strainer (brilliant for canning apple sauce). It is all little smaller so I had to cut my apples. But like the Virginia Strainer I didn’t have to peel or core the apples. Both the attachment and the Virginia Strainer separate the seeds, core and skin from the yummy goodness of the applesauce. Now the big difference is that the Virginia Strainer is hand cranked and the food stainer KitchenAid attachment cranks itself. Yeah, no more sore arms.

IMG_4267IMG_4286IMG_4269IMG_4268IMG_4270IMG_4271

So in short push the cooked apples in and out comes the applesauce. The skin, seeds and core come out like little apple poops. As shown in the picture. But there is still good applesauce in them so run them in the strainer one more time.

Once you have your applesauce pour into canning jars and follow regular water bath canning process. I like pint jars and process my jars for 20 minutes.

You can use any apple you wish. Remember that if your apple is tart you will have tart applesauce and a sweet apple will bring sweet sauce. My mom has a golden delicious apple tree so that is what I have used in the past. You know free is best. But this year her apples were not available so I choose a golden delicious and fuji apple blend. I picked them up at the farmer’s market. So yummy and sweet.

IMG_4311

With that said I want to share with you my favorite variation of applesauce. I had a few blueberries in the the freezer and I throw them in the food strainer. Purple applesauce. This is a great way to clean out the freezer of berries. The blueberry applesauce goes great on pancakes, waffles, and an after school snack. We also have a family favorite recipe that we love at fall time, Applesauce Pie. So good! The blueberry is a nice twist to a favorite family dessert.

IMG_4313

What do you do with your applesauce? Do you have any tricks or tips to making it? So tell me what’s up with your applesauce?

With the threat of snow comes frost and the time to harvest the grapes. Here is a little peak on what I did this weekend.

IMG_4292

